Allow less secure apps in Gmail

Allow less secure apps to access your Gmail account

Last updated on

Google may block sign-in attempts from some apps or devices that do not use modern security standards. Since these apps and devices are easier to break into, blocking them helps keep your account safe.

To disable this security feature:

  1. Sign in to Gmail
  2. Click here to access Less Secure App Access in My Account.
  3. Next to “Allow less secure apps: OFF,” select the toggle switch to turn ON.

This setting may not be available for:

For G-Suite users: Enabling less secure apps to access accounts

  1. Sign in to your Google Admin console (Sign in using an administrator account, not your current account.
  2. Click Security > Basic settings.
  3. Under Less secure apps, select Go to settings for less secure apps.
  4. In the subwindow, select the Allow users to manage their access to less secure apps radio button.

Once you’ve set Allow users to manage their access to less secure apps to on, affected users within the selected group or Organizational Unit will be able to toggle access for less secure apps on or off themselves.

G-Suite admins: Enforcing access to less secure apps for all users

Use this setting when you want to ensure that access by a less secure app is available to all for a limited time, such as for upgrades.

  1. Sign in to your Google Admin console.Sign in using an administrator account
  2. Click Security > Basic settings.
  3. Under Less secure apps, select Go to settings for less secure apps.
  4. In the subwindow, select the Enforce access to less secure apps for all users radio button.

Once you’ve set Enforce access to less secure apps for all users to on, affected users within the selected group or Organizational Unit will not be able to toggle access for less secure apps off themselves. You will have to set the setting back to Allow users to manage their access to less secure apps to allow them to toggle access for less secure apps on or off themselves.

Let me know in the comments if this helped. Follow me on Twitter, Facebook and YouTube.

p.s. I increased my AdSense revenue by 68% using AI 🤖. Read my Ezoic review to find out how.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars 4.25 (12 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We use Markdown to style comments, like on Github and Reddit.
To do a line break, type two spaces after the sentence.
You can add inline code by wrapping it in backticks: `code here`

    To do an entire block of code  
    type four spaces before the line
    and it will appear in a block like this.
    <-- four empty spaces

6 replies

JULY 2018

IF THE ABOVE DOESNT MATCH THE OPTIONS YOU HAVE READ BELOW:

While signed in/logged in to your Google account (important obviously) Click on your round profile circle on the right side of your browser.
Click on the blue button that says “Google account”
Click on the word “Sign-in & security” (with a blue lock icon on the left of the title)
Scroll down ALL the way, the last option is a toggle that says “Allow less secure apps: OFF” Toggle this option.

I am developing a powershell script that will use the send-mailmessage cmdlet to send a newsletter to a series of email addresses. This makes it more personal to the recipient than bcc-ing it to a distribution list, and also allows for some customization (i.e. the script will be able to insert the recipient’s first and last name).

I will run this script only on my own windows 10 computer, and the only other “apps” that I will explicitly use there to logon to google/gmail are the chrome browser. So far the only way I have found to make this work is to enable less secure apps temporarily. My question is this: what might the impact be of leaving that setting in place? I understand the setting is in my google account, so would be open to anyone on any device using any app to connect. But if they knew my google password, they could already login and enable less secure apps anyway.

So can you explain to me the risks of leaving that setting in the “ON” state?